facebook
FREE shipping on all online orders, valid from now until 12/12/2022, standard shipping only, free shipping excludes AK and HI. FREE tote bag with orders over $100. Shop NOW!

Cherokee Sunset Black-Eyed Susan Seeds

Heirloom

#1338
1.6 out of 5 stars
(15 reviews)
Availability: In Stock
A must-have, first-year-blooming perennial, 'Cherokee Sunset' boasts colors unusual in the world of rudbeckias. Over 10-years of breeding and selection resulted in toasty colors of burnt orange, yellow, gold, warm red, and bronze, all found on each 3"-5" double or semi-double bloom. Once they start blooming in early summer, the sunset show continues until frost, to the delight of bees and butterflies; left standing in the fall, the seed cones attract birds. Sturdy stems are a plus for cut-flower arrangements. An All-America Selections award winner. Perennial in USDA zones 9–10. Deer resistant.
$3.49 20 seeds

Botanical Name: Rudbeckia hirta

Family: Asteraceae

Native: North America

Hardiness: Perennial in USDA zones 9–10, but usually treated as an annual. May self-sow.

Plant Dimensions: 24"–30" tall, 18" wide

Variety Information: 3"–5" double and semi-double blooms in colors of burnt orange, yellow, gold, warm red, and bronze

Exposure: Full Sun

Bloom Period: Blooms summer to frost

Attributes: Attracts Birds, Attracts Pollinators, Cut Flower

When to Sow Outside: 2 to 4 weeks before your average last frost date.

When to Start Inside: RECOMMENDED. 8 to 10 weeks before your average last frost date for first year blooms.

Days to Emerge: 10 – 15 Days

Seed Depth: Press into surface

Seed Spacing: A group of 3 seeds every 18"

Thinning: When 1" – 2" tall, thin to 1 every 18"

Special Care: Deadhead (remove spent blossoms) to extend the blooming period. In USDA hardiness zones 9 and warmer, divide plants every 2 to 3 years in the spring before plants start growing.

Write a Review

Cherokee Sunset Black-Eyed Susan Seeds Reviews

15 reviews

No germination

2 out of 5 stars Feb 13, 2022
Start seeds in green house and only one germinated , trying again in March
Vicky from CA
Owner Response: Hi Vicky, We are sorry you had difficulty germinating this product. As a reminder, light aids germination which means seeds need to be surface sown. Surface sown seeds dry out quickly and will need frequent watering. Covering the sown area with a clear dome or food wrap can help to retain moisture, helping to prevent drying out which is detrimental to seeds. A customer service agent will be with you by email to help. Please feel free to contact us to troubleshoot growing issues, we are happy to help.

Didn't Germinate

1 out of 5 stars Mar 2, 2022
Followed all the directions (been doing this for years), but the seeds didn't germinate.
Kevin from MA
Owner Response: Hi Kevin, We are sorry you had difficulty germinating these seeds. We are always happy to help troubleshoot issues like these. A customer service agent will be contacting you soon by email to help. A trick you will find on the packet is that seeds must be surface sown as light aids germination. Because seeds are sown so shallowly, keeping seeds moist can be a challenge and require watering more than once a day. Quality is very important to us. Rest assured, we test our seeds regularly using a third-party laboratory to ensure germination rates meet federal and our own standards.

Poor Germination

2 out of 5 stars Mar 3, 2022
Only about 30% germination. Also, the packet only comes with about 20 seeds. I didn't realize this when I purchased. Needless to say, I wont be growing very many. Normally, I'm very pleased with their seeds. Very disappointed this time.
Mikaila from WA
Owner Response: Hi Mikaila, We are sorry you had difficulty germinating these seeds. We are always happy to help troubleshoot issues like these. A customer service agent will be contacting you soon by email to help. A trick you will find on the packet is that seeds must be surface sown as light aids germination. Because seeds are sown so shallowly, keeping seeds moist can be a challenge and require watering more than once a day. I just wanted to confirm that these seeds are sold by count and 20 per packet is correct. You can find quantities and weights on the product web page by the price and on the front of the packet, in case that is helpful in the future.

Black-eyed Susan Cherokee Sunset

1 out of 5 stars Mar 29, 2022
Planted over 20 days ago following specific directions So far nothing has germinated. After reading the other reviews I realize other are also disappointed The plant looks very beautiful and would have made a great addition to my garden Also I have been using your seeds for years and have never had a problem Thanks just wanted you to know because I know you care
Terri from NY
Owner Response: Hi Teri, We are noticing that this cultivar takes longer to germinate than standard Black-Eyed Susans--they should germinate soon assuming conditions are favorable. Quality is very important to us and if you don't see success in the next week to 10 days please contact our customer service department at customerservice@botanicalinterests.com for assistance.

very low germination

2 out of 5 stars Mar 31, 2022
I did have the same experience as other gardeners. I only had 2 germinate out of 12 seeds. I did surface sow and kept them in humidity dome. Still no luck with actual germination.
Dilish from CA
Owner Response: Hi Dilish, We are sorry you are having difficulty germinating these seeds. Quality is very important to us which is why we have our seeds tested frequently, ensuring they meet federal and our own standards for germination, and we gladly guarantee our seeds. A customer service agent will contact you to help. Feel free to contact us for help anytime you need help.

Close to nothing germination

1 out of 5 stars Apr 8, 2022
I have also had trouble with germination I used several methods to get to germinate and used the entire seed pack and ended up with one that has sprouted.
Nadia from TX
Owner Response: Hello Nadia, We are sorry you are having issues germinating these seeds. A customer service agent will be contacting you by email to help.

Sitting here on the bench with Team No-Germination

1 out of 5 stars Apr 11, 2022
As others have experienced, my seeds were duds. I followed directions and have grown hundreds of rudbeckia from seed over the years, so pretty sure it's not my methods. Maybe another year this variety will be viable.
Mary from VA
Owner Response: Hi Mary, We are sorry you are having difficulty germinating these seeds. Rest assured our seeds are tested frequently by a third-party laboratory to ensure germination rates meet federal and our own standards prior to packing them. This cultivar does appear to take more time than others. We are always happy to help troubleshoot issues. A customer service agent will reach out by email to help.

0 germination

1 out of 5 stars Apr 13, 2022
I sowed all 20 seeds from the package. I have gotten "0" germination!!! I am not a first year gardener and I know what I have been doing. I have started other rudbeckia varieties from other retailers, they have been doing pretty good! So disappointed!!!
Saadet from PA
Owner Response: Hi Saadet, We are sorry you had difficulty germinating these seeds. They do seem to take more time than the other rudbeckias. A customer service agent will be reaching out by email to help. We are always happy to help troubleshoot germination issues so you can get the same great germination we see from lab results. Happy gardening!

Poor Germination

1 out of 5 stars Apr 25, 2022
I planted the whole packet of these along side 2 partial packets of Sahara and Prairie Sun Rudbeckias (from another vendor) and I only had 1 seed germinate... out of the whole packet. The other 2 varieties did just fine and I was able to up-pot the 6 plants that I needed from each. Not sure what happened with these, but rather disappointed as I was hoping to start a cute little flower bed with a mixture of the 3 varieties.
MaKayla from IA
Owner Response: Hi MaKayla, We are sorry you had difficulty germinating these seeds. A customer service agent will contact you by email.

Low germination rate

2 out of 5 stars Apr 29, 2022
I have always had good results with seeds from Botanical Interests, but not these. I surface sowed the seeds indoors under grow light, covered with clear dome to maintain moisture. But only 2 out of the entire pack germinated successfully.
Esther from WA
Owner Response: We are sorry you had difficulty germinating these seeds. A customer service agent will be contacting you by email. Rest assured, our seeds are tested regularly by a third-party laboratory to ensure germination rates meet federal and our own standards prior to packing them. Happy gardening!

What the heck?! Not one seed viable in this pack!

1 out of 5 stars Apr 30, 2022
I grow plant starts every year for a small local sale that I have. Last year I tried the Indian Summer Black-Eyed Susan seeds from Botanical Interests and was very pleased with the outcome from start to finish. The seeds propagated great & grew into beautiful healthy flowers heads. I was ecstatic to see the Cherokee Sunset variety & was excited to have a new variety to offer my clients & have in my own garden. However not one of the seeds sprouted. The Indian summer variety did great again but not one of Cherokee Sunsets seed sprouted. Very disappointing. This is what I do, and love is growing starts and know it was not the growing conditions! Just nonviable seeds!
Jess from CO
Owner Response: Hi Jess, We are sorry you had difficulty germinating these seeds. A customer service agent will be contacting you by email to help. Rest assured, our seeds are tested by a third-party laboratory to ensure germination rates meet federal and our own standards for germination. As stated on the packet, we do guarantee our products. We will be in touch to help. Happy gardening!

Cherokee sunset black eyed susan

5 out of 5 stars May 1, 2022
Can't wait for the beautiful flowers to come back year after year!!
Judy from WA

Unhappy

1 out of 5 stars May 5, 2022
These did not sprout.
Mary from ME
Owner Response: Hi Mary, Because you left this same comment on several products, I wanted you to know that our goal is for you to have a great garden! We are here to help troubleshoot any issues you may have and we do guarantee our seeds. It sounds as though there are some opportunities to improve the growing conditions. Once sprouted, seedlings' ability to thrive is completely dependent upon growing conditions. Please don't hesitate to contact us for help. Rest assured our seeds are tested by a third-party laboratory to ensure germination rates meet federal and our own standards prior to packing. A customer service agent will be in contact by email soon.

Poor germination

2 out of 5 stars Jun 6, 2022
I started 3 different varieties of Rudbeckia this year and this one was the worst performer. I ended up with 4 or 5 very slow growing plants. Hopefully these will do well in the ground.
Brooke from MN
Owner Response: Hi Brooke, We are glad to hear that these seeds did their job germinating. Growth after germination is highly dependent on environmental factors. We are happy to keep in touch and offer any growing tips along the way. Thank you for choosing Botanical Interests!

No germination

1 out of 5 stars Aug 25, 2022
I followed the packet directions to surface sow and used a humidity dome in a tray shared with other black eyed susans. The other variety of black eyed susans from Botanical Interests germinated with 100% success rate while 0 of 20 Cherokee sunset seeds germinated. These are the only seeds I've ever purchased from Botanical Interests with such abysmal germination rates.
Fazal from GA
Owner Response: Hi Fazal, We're sorry that you had difficulty germinating these seeds. Quality is very important to us which is why we have our seeds tested frequently, ensuring they meet federal and our own standards for germination, and we gladly guarantee our seeds. We are always happy to explore the possibilities as to why germination has failed and troubleshoot any issues, feel free to reach out to us! A customer care agent will be in contact with you soon.

This website uses cookies to ensure you receive the best experience. Learn More