facebook

Shock Wave® Purple Tie Dye Petunia Seeds

#1347
1.6666666666667 out of 5 stars
(6 reviews)
Availability: Out of Stock
The bold purples of this petite petunia with 1½"–2" variegated flowers will make your hanging baskets pop. No two blooms are exactly alike; color patterns continue to change as they react to seasonal temperature and light variances. The plant's habit is compact, mounded, and spreading–perfect for patio containers, window boxes, and hanging baskets. Grown as an annual; although perennial in USDA zones 10 and warmer. The extremely small seeds are pelleted with a clay-based product for ease of handling.
$4.29 10 seeds

Botanical Name: Petunia x atkinsiana (hybrid)

Family: Solanaceae

Native: Unknown

Hardiness: Grown as an annual, although perennial in USDA zones 10 and warmer

Plant Dimensions: 7"–10" tall, 20"–30" wide

Variety Information: 1½"–2" wide flowers in shades of purple, violet, and white bicolors in widely variable patterns depending on growing conditions

Exposure: Full Sun

Bloom Period: Blooms spring to frost

Attributes: Attracts Hummingbirds, Good for Containers

When to Sow Outside: Not recommended.

When to Start Inside: RECOMMENDED. 10 to 12 weeks before your average last frost date. Ideal soil temperature for germination is 68°–85°F. Transplant outdoors after your average last frost date.

Days to Emerge: 15 – 30 Days

Seed Depth: Press into surface

Seed Spacing: A group of 3 seeds every 10" – 15"

Thinning: When 1" tall, thin to 1 every 10" – 15"

Special Care: Light aids germination; do not cover with soil.

Write a Review

Shock Wave® Purple Tie Dye Petunia Seeds Reviews

6 reviews

Most pelleted seeds crushed during shipping

4 out of 5 stars Apr 1, 2022
The three seeds that were intact are growing well. I'm looking forward to blooms in my hanging basket this summer.
Erica from OR
Owner Response: Hi Erica, We are sorry this happened. A customer service agent will be contacting you by email to send a replacement.

Very disappointed

1 out of 5 stars Apr 2, 2022
When I opened the seed packet, there were only 2 - 3 actual seeds and a lot of "dust" that appeared to be a coating. I contacted customer service and was told by Cameron that it was a coating and they would send me a replacement packet. That was over 3 weeks ago and nothing has germinated, I have not received a replacement, nor have I received any response to my follow-up emails. Very disappointed in these seeds and with Botanical Interests.
Helen from NJ
Owner Response: Hi Helen, We are sorry for these issues. A customer service agent will be contacting you by email to make things right.

Few seeds-No germination

1 out of 5 stars Apr 10, 2022
There were very few seeds in the packet. some were broken, crumbs. The few seeds I salvaged did not germinate. It is unfortunate as I enjoy purchasing from this company and I never had an issue with any other previously purchased seeds.
DONNA from VT
Owner Response: Hi Donna, We are sorry about this issue. We are working with the manufacturer to solve the pelleting/mailing issue. Quality is very important to us and we guarantee our products. A customer service agent will be reaching out to you by email to help.

No germination

1 out of 5 stars Apr 30, 2022
Not one seed germinated! Very dissatified!
Bobby from MO
Owner Response: We are sorry you had difficulty germinating these seeds. A customer service agent will be contacting you by email. Rest assured, our seeds are tested regularly by a third-party laboratory to ensure germination rates meet federal and our own standards prior to packing them. It seems you had problems germinating a few things, specifically petunias. Some tips are that they should be started indoors, in warm media (65-85 degrees) and the seeds should not be buried, but just be pressed into the media surface. Because seeds are surface sown they can dry out quickly and a humidity dome or clear, plastic wrap on top of the seeded container will help keep seeds moist. Happy gardening!

Disappointing

1 out of 5 stars May 1, 2022
Only two seeds germinated and died one week later
Kevin from NC
Owner Response: Hi Kevin, We are sorry you had germination issues with these seeds. It also sounds like there are some growing conditions that caused seeds that sprouted to decline and we are always happy to help troubleshoot growing and germination issues, feel free to contact us. A customer service agent will be contacting you by email to help. Rest assured our seeds are tested regularly to ensure germination rates meet federal and our own standards. Happy gardening!

disappointed

2 out of 5 stars May 12, 2022
I've grown these same petunias before. First off there were not 10 seeds in the packett. They germinated well but haven't grown vigorously. They're planted in pots and I'm hoping that they take off.
Janice from NC
Owner Response: Hi Tryon, We are glad you had a good experience with the seed and it germinated as expected. By ensuring enough time for this plant to reach maturity, while providing good environmental conditions (soil, nutrients, water, sunshine, oxygen, etc,..), you can expect bold, beautiful petunias with variegated blooms. You may always reach out to us for any gardening tips along the way. Happy gardening!