Peony Double Blend Poppy Seeds

Heirloom

#1231
Availability: In Stock
Jazz up your front walkway border with the ruffled explosion of color from peony poppies! These fully double, 3"-5", colorful flowers with soft, blue-green foliage will reward you with a bounty of blooms that pollinators love. The seed pods are quite interesting in dried flower arrangements.
$1.99 1 gram

Botanical Name: Papaver somniferum

Family: Papaveraceae

Native: Mediterranean region

Hardiness: Annual

Plant Dimensions: 24"–36" tall, 12" wide

Variety Information: 3"–5" ruffled, double blooms range from red, red striped, pink, pale rose, salmon, cream, and white to dark purple.

Exposure: Full sun

Bloom Period: Late spring

Attributes: Deer Resistant, Drought Tolerant

When to Sow Outside: RECOMMENDED. 4 to 6 weeks before your average last frost date or as soon as soil can be worked; or early to mid-fall for bloom the following spring. Mild Climates: Only fall sowing is recommended.

When to Start Inside: Not recommended; roots are sensitive to disturbance.

Days to Emerge: 10–15 days

Seed Depth: Scatter and rake in lightly

Thinning: When 2" tall, thin to 1 every 8"–10"

Write a Review

Peony Double Blend Poppy Seeds Reviews

4 reviews
Pretty, but not quite like the photos
Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Jul 7, 2020
I had poor germination rate, but the weather was weird this spring so it may not have entirely been the seeds' fault. Only had 4 plants come up. The blooms are beautiful, but none of them are colored-all 4 are white. And half of the plants produced single blooms instead of the ruffly doubles as shown in the photos. I recommend staking them because they bend from the weight of the flowers. The petals fall off after only a couple days so if you're looking for a long-lasting flower, this isn't it.
Jessica N

Not the right variety
Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Jul 14, 2020
The seeds germinated well and the plants took a long time to bud and bloom and then the peonies were Hungarian Blue and not the pictured variety.
Quynh Quach
Owner Response: We are so sorry that these seeds were not true. A customer service agent will be with you soon to help.

Did not come up
Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Aug 6, 2020
Did not come up
BETTY SCHULTZ
Owner Response: It looks like you had trouble germinating a few varieties. Our seeds are tested regularly to ensure great germination and we are always here to help. A customer service agent will be with you soon to help.

Wrong variety
Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Aug 20, 2020
I was disappointed by these seeds. I grew 11 plants and only one was double (it looked like 'Black Swan'). The other 10 were single breadseed poppies that looked like other varieties available through Botanical Interests such as 'Hungarian Blue', 'Drama Queen' and 'Lauren's Grape'. While those varieties are pretty, they are not what I paid for. I was really looking forward to growing peony poppies. :/ This is not the first time Botanical Interest seeds have disappointed me; I also bought a double stocks mix and all 14 of the plants that I grew from the seeds were single. As for the color of the blooms, 13/14 were the same lavender color and 1 was magenta. I highly recommend not purchasing these two mixes. One seed mix from Botanical Interests that I do highly recommend is the California flower mix. It was gorgeous. And the salpiglossis mix, while difficult to grow, was also stunning.
O. Padilla
Owner Response: Hello, Thank you for making us aware of this issue. We are sorry you had a poor experience with our seeds. A customer service agent will contact you soon to help.

You May Also Like